0

Michigan’s New MIP Law

Michigan's New MIP LawMichigan’s New MIP Law to take effect in 2018:

Governor Snyder signed Michigan’s New MIP Law in 2016, it will reduce penalties for minors who purchase, consume, or are in possession of alcohol.  Starting January 1, 2018, first time offenders of the Minor in Possession (MIP) law will be guilty of a civil infraction instead of a misdemeanor. There will no longer be any threat of a first offense landing on a young adult’s record. When the law takes effect they will instead pay a fine. Even though the first offense is reduced, it should still be taken seriously due to the long lasting effects and the possibility of future violations.

First time offenders could be fined $100.00, ordered to participate in substance use disorder services, undergo substance abuse screening, and perform community service.  If the minor is charged with a second MIP, the offense increases to a misdemeanor.  This means that if a minor receives a second MIP charge, it is a criminal offense.  If charged with a misdemeanor, the minor could face up to 30 days in jail and be charged $200.00.  Again, the minor could be ordered to participate in substance use disorder services, undergo substance abuse screening, and perform community service.  If the minor has violated the MIP law more than 2 times, he/she can face up to 60 days in jail and be charged $500.00.  The minor can be ordered to participate in substance use disorder services, undergo substance abuse screening, and perform community service.  After a second or third violation, the minor’s licenses can be suspended.

Concerned about Michigan’s New MIP Law? Thousands of minors are charged with MIP violations every year.  For more information about the Michigan Minor in Possession (MIP) law and how to protect yourself, call us at (248) 398-7100 for a free consultation or contact us with a private message.