Since its inception, the attorneys of Garmo & Kiste, PLC have provided a strong defense to all criminal related charges. We have represented individuals in Oakland, Macomb, Wayne, and Lapeer Counties, and take an aggressive, intelligent approach to these matters.
Background of Michigan’s Minor in Possession of Alcohol (MIP) Law
Public Act No. 63 was signed by Governor Jennifer Granholm on April 12, 2004, giving Michigan one of the toughest Minor in Possession (MIP) laws in the country. The MIP Michigan law was first revised in the year 1998 and Public Act No. 63 is the first major revision after that.
Being “in possession of alcohol” has had its definition amended to where blood alcohol content (BAC) is now included explicitly in the definition. Under the new MIP law now, “any bodily alcohol content” is prohibited.
Michigan law specifically provides that “A minor shall not purchase or attempt to purchase alcoholic liquor, consume or attempt to consume alcoholic liquor, possess or attempt to possess alcoholic liquor, or have any bodily alcohol content.” A violation of this act constitutes a misdemeanor.
Consequences of a Minor in Possession of Alcohol (MIP) Conviction
A conviction for Minor in Possession (MIP) has very serious consequences. First, it is important to note that a violation of a Minor in Possession (MIP) is a misdemeanor, which means that this is a criminal offense. In Michigan, most misdemeanors are punishable by up to 93 days in jail and/or a $500.00 fine. The Michigan Secretary of State also imposes licensing sanctions on drivers convicted of a Minor in Possession (MIP). A Minor in Possession (MIP) conviction will be permanently displayed on your public record. In addition, a Minor in Possession (MIP) conviction can impact your eligibility for student loans, housing, employment, insurance rates, etc. That’s why if you have been charged with or are the parent of a child that has been charged with a Minor in Possession (MIP) it is crucial to retain an attorney to represent you.
For more information about the Michigan Minor in Possession (MIP) law and to retain Garmo & Kiste, PLC, call us at (248) 398-7100 for a free consultation.
What to do After Being Charged with a Minor in Possession (MIP)
Never plead guilty at your arraignment. Nowadays, many judges routinely accept guilty pleas at an individual’s first court appearance. Remember that a judge is not your lawyer and does not represent your interests. That is precisely why it is so critical to retain an attorney to represent you. We will explore all facets of your matter to determine if there are Constitutional violations which may enable us to seek a dismissal of your charges. Even if you are truly guilty we still may be able to negotiate a reduced plea that will not have harsh consequences on your future. To retain Garmo & Kiste, PLC call us at (248) 398-7100 for a free consultation or contact us with a private message.
Our Familiarity with the Courts…
One of the greatest advantages of hiring our firm is the connections we bring to the process. Typically we know the prosecutor and the judge and thus are equipped to negotiate a better deal than you could on your own. For this reason, looking for an attorney who practices in the county where you were cited is particularly helpful. That said we regularly practice in the district and circuit courts of the counties of Oakland, Macomb, Wayne, and Lapeer.
Do you need a Michigan Minor in Possession MIP Lawyer? For more information about the Michigan Minor in Possession (MIP) law and to retain Garmo & Kiste, PLC call us at (248) 398-7100 for a free consultation or contact us with a private message.